

12/04/24 Senate Agenda

Associated Students

This meeting is being called to order asynchronously online by Internal Vice President Pinto on 12/04/24.

Minutes/Actions recorded by: Summer Tucker

CALL TO ORDER by Acúcar Pinto Internal Vice President on 12/04/24

A) MEETING BUSINESS

"Before we begin, we call for students to acknowledge that the lands that the University of California locations were built upon were expropriated & founded upon exclusions and erasures of Indigenous people's human rights throughout California. UCSB is built on Chumash Land, specifically that of the non-federally recognized Barbareno tribe. As an association that pushes the student bodies' voices to the forefront, we should aim to make strides past just acknowledgment to those who continue to fight for their right to be recognized & respected as the original stewards of this land. I ask you all to dedicate time & care to personal education & to advocate for justice alongside Indigenous peoples."

A-1) Roll Call

Name	Attendance	Position
Dalia Gerson	Absent -	Off-Campus Senator
Alexa Butler	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early ,	Letters & Science Senator & Second President Pro Tempore
Carly Lankarani	🔽 Present, 🌞 Early 🝷	Off-Campus Senator
Taylor Iden	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early 🔹	Off-Campus Senator & Advocacy Committee Chair
Enri Lala	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early ,	Off-Campus Senator & Outreach Committee Vice-Chair
Leiya Kadah	Absent -	Off-Campus Senator
Yasmine Suuck	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early ,	Off-Campus Senator & Liaison Committee Vice-Chair
Levi Corlew	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early 🔹	Off-Campus Senator
Leah Khorsandi	Absent -	College of Letters & Science Senator

Name	Attendance	Position
Mariana Rosillo	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early 🔹	University-Owned Off Campus Senator
Ella Yu	Absent -	International Senator
Isabella McClintock	Absent -	Transfer Senator
Alejandra Martinez	🔽 Present, 🌞 Early 🔹	College of Letters & Science Senator & Outreach Committee Chair
Dominic Wang	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early 🔹	Off-Campus Senator
Lily Habas	Absent -	College of Creative Studies (CCS) Senator
Paolo Brinderson	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early 🕤	Off-Campus Senator
Eemaan Wahidullah	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early 🔹	Off-Campus Senator
Jasmine Amin	Carl Absent -	Off-Campus Senator
Daniyal "Dan" Siddiqui	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early 🔹	Off-Campus Senator & First President Pro-Tempore
Noura Elkhatib	Absent -	College of Letters & Science Senator
Sandhya "Sandy" Ganesh	Absent -	International Senator & Liaison Committee Chair
Aryaman Singh	🔽 Present, 🔆 Early 🔸	College of Engineering (CoE) Senator & Finance Committee External Chair

Skip B

C) New Business

 A Resolution Extending the Financial Reporting Deadline for... Iden-Lala
 Motion to pass A Resolution Extending the Financial Reporting Deadline for...
 Siddiqui-Butler
 Yes- 13
 No-O
 Abstain-O
 The following senators have recused themselves from the vote: Senator Dalia Gerson, Senator Leiya Kadah, Senator Leah Khorsandi, Senator Ella Yu, Senator Isabella
 McClintock, Senator Lily Habas, Senator Jasmine Amin, Senator Noura Elkhatib, Senator Sandhya "Sandy" Ganesh.
 This Motion passes at 12/06 11:59pm
 Skip D E) Acceptance of Agenda

Motion to accept the agenda. Butler-Siddiqui Yes- 13 No-O Abstain-O The following senators have recused themselves from the vote: Senator Dalia Gerson, Senator Leiya Kadah, Senator Leah Khorsandi, Senator Ella Yu, Senator Isabella McClintock, Senator Lily Habas, Senator Jasmine Amin, Senator Noura Elkhatib, Senator Sandhya "Sandy" Ganesh. This Motion passes at 12/O6 11:59pm Skip E-F

G) Action Items:Fall 24 Honoraria (Public Release)

Motion to approve Fall 2024 Honoraria Butler-Siddiqui Yes- 13 No-O Abstain-O The following senators have recused themselves from the vote: Senator Dalia Gerson, Senator Leiya Kadah, Senator Leah Khorsandi, Senator Ella Yu, Senator Isabella McClintock, Senator Lily Habas, Senator Jasmine Amin, Senator Noura Elkhatib, Senator Sandhya "Sandy" Ganesh. This Motion passes at 12/06 11:59pm

I-3) Unit Reports-■ Fall 24 BCU Report

K) Minutes and Allocations:

To Be Approved

Motion to approve all minutes and allocations. Butler-Siddiqui Yes- 13 No-O Abstain-O The following senators have recused themselves from the vote: Senator Dalia Gerson, Senator Leiya Kadah, Senator Leah Khorsandi, Senator Ella Yu, Senator Isabella McClintock, Senator Lily Habas, Senator Jasmine Amin, Senator Noura Elkhatib, Senator Sandhya "Sandy" Ganesh.

This Motion passes at 12/06 11:59pm L) Appointments:

<u>S.C.O.R.E.</u>

Ashna Ahmed- Co-education Chair Hari Priya Chipiri- Co-education chair Haania Punjwani- Co Outreach Coordinator Astrid Pike- Co-Outreach Coordinator Jeovany Tzilin Gomez- Admin Chair

<u>Pardall Center Governance Board</u> Patrick Calleja as Treasurer

A.S. Lobby Corps

Esther Mejia as Co-Chair Nelson Mu as Co-Chair Dominick Rodriguez as Communications Director

Motion to approve all appointments. Siddiqui-Butler Yes- 13 No-O Abstain-O The following senators have recused themselves from the vote: Senator Dalia Gerson, Senator Leiya Kadah, Senator Leah Khorsandi, Senator Ella Yu, Senator Isabella McClintock, Senator Lily Habas, Senator Jasmine Amin, Senator Noura Elkhatib, Senator Sandhya "Sandy" Ganesh. This Motion passes at 12/06 11:59pm

Skip M-N

O) Adjournment

Motion to close email vote at 12/06 11:59PM Siddiqui-Butler Yes- 13 No-O Abstain-O The following senators have recused themselves from the vote: Senator Dalia Gerson, Senator Leiya Kadah, Senator Leah Khorsandi, Senator Ella Yu, Senator Isabella *McClintock, Senator Lily Habas, Senator Jasmine Amin, Senator Noura Elkhatib, Senator Sandhya "Sandy" Ganesh. This Motion passes at 12/06 11:59pm*